Archive eSports News

Overwatch World Cup Rosters Are In

Over the past month, 24 Overwatch World Cup competition committees held tryouts, with players competing for a spot on their country’s team. Now, the rosters are in—check them out at

Here’s the UK lineup:


Competitors from each roster will battle it out for their nation at one of the Group Stages taking place in Incheon, South Korea; Los Angeles, United States; Bangkok, Thailand; and Paris, France from mid-August through late September. Each of these cities will play host to its country’s home team and five visiting teams for three days of intense round-robin competition. The top two countries from each group stage will advance to the Overwatch World Cup Top 8 at BlizzCon.
Group Stage competition begins in South Korea on Saturday, August 17 at 05:00 CEST with Russia vs. Hong Kong.

Group Stage: Incheon (Aug. 17-19 CEST)

  • Chinese Taipei
  • Finland
  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • Russia
  • South Korea (First place in 2017; beat Canada 4-1 in championship match)

Group Stage: Los Angeles (Sep. 7-9 CEST)

  • Austria
  • Brazil
  • Canada (Second place in 2017; lost to South Korea 1-4 in championship match)
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • USA (advanced to Top 8 in 2017; lost to South Korea 3-1 in Top 8)

Group Stage: Bangkok (Sep. 14-16 CEST)

  • Australia (Advanced to Top 8 at BlizzCon in 2017; lost to Canada 2-3 in Top 8)
  • China (Advanced to Top 8 at BlizzCon in 2017; lost to France 1-3 in Top 8)
  • Denmark
  • Spain
  • Sweden (Third place in 2017; beat France 3-1 in third-place match)
  • Thailand

Group Stage: Paris (Sep. 21-23 CEST)

  • France (Fourth place in 2017; lost to Sweden 1-3 in third-place match)
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • United Kingdom (Advanced to Top 8 at BlizzCon in 2017; lost to Sweden 0-3 in Top 8)

Top 8: BlizzCon (Nov. 2-3 CEST)

  • Top two countries from each Group Stage

For more details on the Group Stage competition, including where to purchase tickets check out: